Mathematics Department

Our aim is to…

Guide pupils in their learning

Inspire pupils through our passion for Maths

Challenge them to Succeed

Encourage the feeling that they can do Maths and believe all things are possible.

Teaching and Learning in Mathematics

During their time at St. Bede’s pupils will learn a range of mathematical skills and cover the content of the key stage 3 national curriculum and GCSE specification to enable them to consolidate and extend their knowledge in preparation for their GCSE examination. They will be set challenging problems appropriate to their ability. Pupils are encouraged to use a range of resources including MathsWatchvle to consolidate work they have studied in school. Teachers use a variety of techniques to engage pupils, taking into consideration different learning styles to develop their confidence in Mathematics.

Assessment of Learning

Pupils are set by ability at the beginning of year 7 using key stage 2 results in conjunction with our entry test.  In years 7 to 9 there are 9 sets in each year group. This allows teachers to differentiate the work so that it is appropriate to the ability of each pupil. In years 10 and 11 we have smaller class sizes as there are 10 sets in each year group.

Set changes can take place at any time but generally this takes place following our internal assessments.  There are two assessments during the year when pupils bring two pages of revision notes.  This is to encourage pupils to look back at the topics they are being assessed on and to improve their revision techniques.  The end of year assessment takes place under exam conditions.

GCSE Mathematics   

We follow the Edexcel Linear GCSE course.  This covers all the key areas of Maths including Number, Algebra, Ratio, proportion and rates of change, geometry and measures, probability and statistics. In each area we will extend topics covered at key stage 3 as well as covering topics that are new to key stage 4.

Many of our pupils take the Higher tier which covers grades 4 to 9.  Some pupils will take the Foundation tier which covers grades 1 to 5.  Each tier is assessed through three written papers, two calculator and one non-calculator.

The curriculum overview for Key stage 3 and Key stage 4 can be seen by clicking the links below:

Year 7 Content

Year 8 Content

Year 9 Content

GCSE Higher Content

GCSE Foundation Content